Locusts

My New Nicklace

My New Nicklace

God has promised to give us back the years the locusts have eaten. (Joel 2:25). Sometimes He does so in such wonderful and surprising ways that I stand in awe at HIS memory of things. My mom use to jokingly say that I had the memory of an elephant (allegedly an elephant never forgets). For the most part she was right, I have an extremely long memory, but God’s is way longer.

I use to have a large jewelry collection. I do enjoy jewelry. When my house burnt down in 1996. I received a call at work that my house was on fire. I left in hysterics. My first thoughts were of my children, then my pets, and then my jewelry.

Then when I became a drug addict I lost it all. Sometimes I will think of an individual piece of jewelry and be sad. But for the most part, I have accepted my loss with equanimity. I want to digress a moment and make a comment about addictions. The thing about any addiction, but especially meth, is that the drug will tell you everything is going to be okay when it’s not. That’s how people lose their family or their belongings. They honestly don’t know it’s going to happen until it’s too late. They don’t know they run the risk of going to jail. They just want to feed their addiction. And the addiction keeps whispering in their ear, giving them false promises. So, if you have an addict in your life, don’t be angry, feel sorry for them. That doesn’t mean to allow them to ruin your life, or to be co-dependent, it just changes the emotion involved.

So Sunday, on Mother’s Day, I was walking by Gordon’s Jewelry in Penn Square Mall and just dropped in. There was this necklace. I use to have a piece of costume jewelry that was very similar. It’s one of those pieces I regret losing. But God gave it back. It is now mine. Yes, I still had to pay for it, but the fact is that God had me in a financial position to buy the necklace when I once again saw it. God does restore the years. Sometimes in big ways (like our relationships), sometimes in small (like my necklace), but He does. And He remembers me (and you). He calls us by our names. We are His. (Isaiah 43:1b).

Selah.

 

About michellerap

Today I find my identity in God. I use to find my identity in externals, like motherhood, being a lawyer, etc. But that's not who I am. I am redeemed and wholly loved and precious in His sight. First and foremost, this is who I am. The other things are part of me, but they do not define me. God does. My job as a Christian is not to judge people but to show them the heart and hands of Christ. I am to show mercy and grace. And someday, when I am an attorney, I hope I can help those God puts in my path to find justice. I am a mother of four and a grandmother of nine. I am proud of each of them. I also have three dogs. I am lawyer who loves what I do. I am also Gluten-Free and any recipe I publish is GF. It's the only way I cook.
This entry was posted in Addiction, Calling, Regret and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

