Light in the Darkness

The Crystal

Today as I was meditating (yes meditating), I opened my eyes and began to concentrate on a crystal that I have on a shelf (I love rocks, even crystals, not for some magical purpose but because God made them and they are beautiful). As I did I noticed that as a car would pass by (even though my blinds were drawn) that flashes of light would hit it. God then showed me that we have to open our eyes to see the light.

In Matthew 5:14-16 Jesus said “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

But closing your eyes to the light also does the same. If you shut your eyes you are in darkness. I realized that as Christians we shut our eyes to the darkness because we want to be in our insular little world and don’t want to see the darkness around us. We pretend the world is whatever we think it is, and we hide. But by doing that we keep ourselves in the darkness. In Luke 11:35 Jesus warned us not to be in darkness: “See to it, then, that the light within you is not darkness.” By hiding from the darkness we can extinguish our light. Because when we hide we lose the light.

Right now close your eyes. What do you see? Darkness.

I remember once going to a church in Centerton, Arkansas, where the pastor asked those that were willing to go wherever God sent them to stand. I was amazed to see that less than half the people in the sanctuary stood. That has always astounded me and I now know that they were sitting in the dark with their eyes closed and their fingers in their ears going “la, la, la, I can’t hear you.” Yes, they were blocking out the light.

Jesus is the light. John 12:46 says “I have come as a light into the world, that whoever believes in Me should not abide in darkness.” But to be in His light, to be in fellowship with Him, we have to obey Him.

So the questions today is, are you doing what He would have you to do? Are you dwelling in the light or do you have your eyes closed?

Selah.

About michellerap

Today I find my identity in God. I use to find my identity in externals, like motherhood, being a lawyer, etc. But that's not who I am. I am redeemed and wholly loved and precious in His sight. First and foremost, this is who I am. The other things are part of me, but they do not define me. God does. My job as a Christian is not to judge people but to show them the heart and hands of Christ. I am to show mercy and grace. And someday, when I am an attorney, I hope I can help those God puts in my path to find justice. I am a mother of four and a grandmother of nine. I am proud of each of them. I also have three dogs. I am lawyer who loves what I do. I am also Gluten-Free and any recipe I publish is GF. It's the only way I cook.
This entry was posted in Meditation, Spiritual and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

