Taking Up Offenses

There are those that believe taking up offenses is a sin. I won’t belabor the issue, because I don’t feel that scripture in definitive on the issue.(http://pastorterrysblog.blogspot.com/2010/11/danger-of-taking-anothers-offense.html) I do think that taking up another’s offense can be harmful, because you can’t forgive for another. It would be extremely easy to hold anger in your heart your entire life if you took it up for another person. I do know that anger and hatred only poisons the person that is carrying them. I believe that we are to get angry and hurt for what has happened to us, then to work towards forgiveness. Ephesians 4:26-27 says  “In your anger do not sin: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold.” We are to have compassion and empathy tempered with common sense and do what we can in out own sphere.

By allowing anyone to get under you skin and make you lose sight of Biblical teachings of love and mercy and charity, then you are being a victim. If you are angry you are a victim. Because you’re not free you’re bound up in hatred, one of the most self-destructive emotion out there. This is one of the tools in Satan’s arsenal. As long as you are bound up in hatred and anger, you’re not living in the freedom that Jesus intended for you. I’m not saying that TODAY you have to forgive, but I do believe you need to pray “God, I am angry. I am hurt. But I know Your Word says to forgive. But God, I’m not feeling it. But obedience isn’t an emotion it’s an action. So today God, I choose to believe You and to forgive. Lord, forgive ________, and Lord, I know I’m not feeling it, but bless ________. Lord, work on me. Lord, change me. Help me to not be a victim any longer, but Lord, teach me to see others through Your eyes. Teach me to be the woman You would have me to be. Heal my heart Lord. Pluck this anger and unforgiveness from my heart. I love You Lord. You have every right to be angry at me but yet You choose not. You died for my sins. What is my small, insignificant, little earthly pain compared to Your pain? You wore the nails and bore the cross for ME. You watch me in heaven and see how I fail, You see you I am not the woman You want me to be and You cry for me. If you can forgive me, I can forgive ______. Amen.”

Note: I wrote this today for someone who was posting on Facebook. She reminded me of me long ago. Just as naive, but angry for the world. This is so destructive. Don’t be angry. Be angry and sin not.

Selah.

About michellerap

Today I find my identity in God. I use to find my identity in externals, like motherhood, being a lawyer, etc. But that's not who I am. I am redeemed and wholly loved and precious in His sight. First and foremost, this is who I am. The other things are part of me, but they do not define me. God does. My job as a Christian is not to judge people but to show them the heart and hands of Christ. I am to show mercy and grace. And someday, when I am an attorney, I hope I can help those God puts in my path to find justice. I am a mother of four and a grandmother of nine. I am proud of each of them. I also have three dogs. I am lawyer who loves what I do. I am also Gluten-Free and any recipe I publish is GF. It's the only way I cook.
This entry was posted in Forgiveness, Offenses, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

