Nativity

I just finished watching “The Nativity Story.” It’s Christmas – what else should I watch? I watch Scrooge on Christmas Eve and The Nativity Story on Christmas and sometime before New Year’s I watch “It’s a Wonderful Life.” Tradition. Oh wait, tradition is from “Fiddler on the Roof.” Wrong movie.

As Mary brought forth baby Jesus I began to cry. Somehow I never thought about the labor she endured. Or how fearful Joseph was. Or. . . something I have learned over the years is that there is still more to learn about the birth of Christ. Oh yes, I know the movie has its flaws, but last time I checked so do I. It is moving and thought-provoking – which is enough.

Then I went to Facebook and saw the following post, thanks to my friend Tahlia Robson. And it’s true. Think about it hard and long.

Today, some are celebrating an underprivileged mom giving birth in a stable, to a baby who grew up to be a prominent activist for peace, love and anti-capitalist values; who preferred the company of honest prostitutes, the poor and the disabled than that of the religious or financial elite; who partook in radical direct action against the banking system and who, at the conclusion of his life, was executed publicly as an enemy of state. Jesus was a revolutionary Merry Christmas

Selah.

About michellerap

Today I find my identity in God. I use to find my identity in externals, like motherhood, being a lawyer, etc. But that's not who I am. I am redeemed and wholly loved and precious in His sight. First and foremost, this is who I am. The other things are part of me, but they do not define me. God does. My job as a Christian is not to judge people but to show them the heart and hands of Christ. I am to show mercy and grace. And someday, when I am an attorney, I hope I can help those God puts in my path to find justice. I am a mother of four and a grandmother of nine. I am proud of each of them. I also have three dogs. I am lawyer who loves what I do. I am also Gluten-Free and any recipe I publish is GF. It's the only way I cook.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Nativity, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

