Praise The Lord – Christmas – Here and Then – 2004 and 2011

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart. I will be found by you, says the LORD, and I will bring you back from your captivity; I will gather you from all the nations and from all the places where I have driven you, says the LORD, and I will bring you to the place from which I cause you to be carried away captive.” Jeremiah 29:11-14

As I write this I should be studying for finals but I had to stop a moment and just praise God for all He has done. Plus it’d be hard to study with the tears in my eyes. Yes, I’m crying. Like that is a new phenomena. Why you might ask am I crying?

Because seven years ago TODAY I was a woman who had a GED, a drug addiction that she was battling and a van that she lived in. Seven years ago today I had been saved less than three months and was living in my van. In December, 2004, two lovely young women opened up their apartment to me and the rest is history.

God has a much better imagination than I. In my wildest dreams I would never have imagined that seven years later I’d have a college degree, a new car that I am going to pay for FOREVER, my family and true friends, people who don’t just want to use me. Never would I have imagined I’d be in law school in Oklahoma, over 200 miles from home.  For the first time in my life, I have a hope and a future. I am choosing to stay home in Oklahoma for Christmas because for the first time since 1996, I have a home. Oh, I’ve had apartments and places that I live, but for the first time I really have a home. And this is all HIM. All of it. I just let Him work and look what He did.

Dear Father, I just want to thank You for working in me. Thank you for trusting me to seek You and thank You for being the Alpha and Omega, the beginning and end, the bright and morning star. You are my strong tower, my peace, my hope, my future. You are my Jehovah -Rapha, my healer, You are Jehovah-Tsidkenu, my righteousness, Jehovah-Shalon, the Lord my peace. You are my righteousness, my holiness, my life. Thank you for saving me from darkness. Thank you for redeeming me from despair. Thank you. Thank you so much. Amen.

Selah.

About michellerap

Today I find my identity in God. I use to find my identity in externals, like motherhood, being a lawyer, etc. But that's not who I am. I am redeemed and wholly loved and precious in His sight. First and foremost, this is who I am. The other things are part of me, but they do not define me. God does. My job as a Christian is not to judge people but to show them the heart and hands of Christ. I am to show mercy and grace. And someday, when I am an attorney, I hope I can help those God puts in my path to find justice. I am a mother of four and a grandmother of nine. I am proud of each of them. I also have three dogs. I am lawyer who loves what I do. I am also Gluten-Free and any recipe I publish is GF. It's the only way I cook.
This entry was posted in Praise, Spiritual, Thankfulness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Praise The Lord – Christmas – Here and Then – 2004 and 2011

  1. Terry Reed says:

    Michelle: God is so good! I am so glad of the turn in your life…the best is yet to come!

Leave a Reply

