Good-bye Dear Frank

Several months ago a dear friend of mine, Frank Bailey, passed away. And what is amazing is that I’m not sure that we ever met face-to-face. But Frank was the type of man that touched lives to such an extent that even a Facebook friendship was deep and real. I spent at least two days crying about his death, all for a man I never even saw face-to-face. I wasn’t crying for him, but for me. Because Frank was one of those people that always said encouraging words, that was uplifting and was genuinely concerned. May that be said for all of us.

When I typed these words I thought of Ebenezer Scrooge when it was said that he kept Christmas well. I think we should strive to live life well. To encourage, to uplift, to make a difference in people’s lives.

“Go placidly amid the noise and the haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence. As far as possible without surrender, be on good terms with all persons. Speak your truth quietly and clearly, and listen to others, even the dull and ignorant; they too have their story. Be yourself. Especially do not feign affection. Neither be cynical about love – for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment it is as perennial as the grass. Take kindly the counsel of the years, gracefully surrendering the things of youth. Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune. But do not distress yourself with imaginings. Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness. Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself. You are a child of the universe no less than the trees and the stars; you have a right to be here. And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should. Therefore be at peace with God, whatever you conceive Him to be, and whatever your labours and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life keep peace with your soul. With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams, it is still a beautiful world.” – Max Ehrmann

I am reminded  of “Splendor in the Grass” and the poem by William Wordsworth “Though nothing can bring back the hour of splendour in the grass, glory in the flower; We will grieve not, rather find strength in what remains behind.”

So today, I hope we all go and touch a life in such an uplifting and profound way that we will be remembered long after we are gone by people we have never actually met. Let our words live forever in the hearts of those we touch. Frank will live on in my life and in the lives of others I touch because of him.

Selah.

Frank


About michellerap

Today I find my identity in God. I use to find my identity in externals, like motherhood, being a lawyer, etc. But that's not who I am. I am redeemed and wholly loved and precious in His sight. First and foremost, this is who I am. The other things are part of me, but they do not define me. God does. My job as a Christian is not to judge people but to show them the heart and hands of Christ. I am to show mercy and grace. And someday, when I am an attorney, I hope I can help those God puts in my path to find justice. I am a mother of four and a grandmother of nine. I am proud of each of them. I also have three dogs. I am lawyer who loves what I do. I am also Gluten-Free and any recipe I publish is GF. It's the only way I cook.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Friend, Life, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good-bye Dear Frank

  1. Mary Bellamy says:

    Michelle, I too was very touched by Frank’s life even though we never met face to face. He was a remarkable man and an inspiration to many.

  2. Edie Messer Hunt says:

    PJ–this is beautiful–and yes Frank was/is truly loved by many, but please don’t forget that you are too, My Dear. I can NEVER think of Frank without PJ—you are one.Even death can’t part that union of souls. I love you PJ and ALWAYS will. You were/are a big loving part of my life.Take care–and always remember YOU are loved and you too make difference. If ever I can help let me know!!!!!!!–EDIE

Leave a Reply

