Love and Evil

Today I answered a woman who was upset about the cruelty a dog named Chamberlin had endured and how some abuser won’t face the responsibility of her actions. This was my response.

I don’t always know why there is evil in this world. But I know that God is a loving God who hurts with children and animals and even people. I know He is in control. We don’t see the whole picture, it’s like a huge cosmic movie with all these actors and we don’t see the why. For example, Bailey, my dog, who I got to keep me company, enlarged my heart ever-so-much. Did I know that? No. Did God know that? Yes. Then I found a dog that drove me bonkers and I got her into a rescue. And then a cat. Same thing. But somewhere along the way that allowed my heart to grow even more to now I am fostering dogs. Then I read the story of Patrick and found this newsletter. It broke my heart and for awhile I began to become angry, bitter, disillusioned, etc. But then I put it in perspective. I don’t know the why, maybe the why is just to continue to help others. Maybe the why is to make the people that saved Chamberlin’s heart bigger. We don’t know that – we’re not the directors. But I know that there is a reason for all of it. I’m just not privy to what that answer is. Yes, people are in denial. Some people never face the truth. But, that’s not my problem. My problem is how I face life, what I do in the life of other beings, and my decisions. Same for you. Stand up for what you believe. Maybe that’s why these things happen – so people can stand up. If everything was perfect, we would have no need to rail against injustice and cruelty. We would have no reason to stand up and be counted. But God is in control and He sees the beginning, the middle and the end.

Then I found this quote by Martin Luther King, Jr.

The ultimate weakness of violence is that it is a descending spiral, 
begetting the very thing it seeks to destroy.
Instead of diminishing evil, it multiplies it.
Through violence you may murder the liar,
but you cannot murder the lie, nor establish the truth.
Through violence you may murder the hater,
but you do not murder hate.
In fact, violence merely increases hate.
So it goes.
Returning violence for violence multiplies violence,
adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars.
Darkness cannot drive out darkness:
only light can do that.
Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.


About michellerap

Today I find my identity in God. I use to find my identity in externals, like motherhood, being a lawyer, etc. But that's not who I am. I am redeemed and wholly loved and precious in His sight. First and foremost, this is who I am. The other things are part of me, but they do not define me. God does. My job as a Christian is not to judge people but to show them the heart and hands of Christ. I am to show mercy and grace. And someday, when I am an attorney, I hope I can help those God puts in my path to find justice. I am a mother of four and a grandmother of nine. I am proud of each of them. I also have three dogs. I am lawyer who loves what I do. I am also Gluten-Free and any recipe I publish is GF. It's the only way I cook.
This entry was posted in Evil, Hate, Love, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

