Under the Rainbow

I’m cleaning up the mess under my rainbow. Whoa. Someone recently posted that on Faceybook and I love it.

How many times have we thought we had found our rainbow or our pot o’ gold at the end of the rainbow and then had the rainbow fall down and give us a concussion? 

Did you know that God has it. Let me say that again. God has it. He has it all. He has your life and my life. He has every infinitesimal little dot. He’s got our rainbows. Matthew 6:25-34 says “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life? And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

God thinks about you (and me) all the time. He pays attention to details. I am one of the hardest people in the world to start an i.v. on. Wednesday when I was in the hospital awaiting surgery they had to stick me seven or eight times. They finally got it in the crook of my arm but as we all know those are the hardest ones to keep working. Well, a few hours after surgery the plastic catheter in my arm bent and the i.v. no longer worked. They stuck me another two times and then, since the only reason I still needed the i.v. was for pain medicine, they called the doctor and got permission to leave it out.

When this first happened I was upset. Why me? (actually it was because I was using that arm to text). But why me? Then I realized that it was to protect me. They had given me morphine when I was still groggy from surgery and I barely remember it. What if they had given me morphine and I had liked it? Couldn’t that have led to another addiction? This way, I was protected. God knows my propensity towards drug addiction and by having my i.v. become unusable before I had the chance to experience the morphine, He was protecting me (from me). God kept His promise that He made in 1 Corinthians 10:13 “No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.”

So, God cleaned up my mess (having been an addict) to keep me from falling to temptation. He gave me a rainbow and I didn’t even know it.

Another rainbow He gave me this week was a chair that lessened my pain after surgery. Now I wouldn’t have thought to try this chair to relieve the pain, but my knee hurt too bad to stand on the leg to take the dogs out to the potty. My groin hurt, which reverberated into my knee, and so standing is awful. So, I pulled one of those umbrella chairs out of a back closet. I’m a big woman and I don’t trust them. The first time I sat in it I thought “Oh no, this hurts” because getting into it stretched my groin area more and then within seconds my knee and groin area quit hurting and I had instant relief. So since then, when I’m in pain, I sit in the chair. I think all of those little gifts from God, those little agape gifts, are our rainbows that He is giving us. I hope I don’t make too much of a mess for Him. And I hope I realize that they are my rainbows-in-disguise. Hopefully I will recognize the sacred hidden among the mundane.

Dear God, thank you for the gift of the rainbow. Thank you that you protect me from me. Thank you that you love me so much, even when I am so difficult. I love You. I glory in You. I am so blessed by You. Lord, help me to recognize your gifts as your rainbows. Help me not to be so caught up that I fail to see your love in the mundane. Help me to realize that even when I’m not thinking about You, You are thinking about me. Help me to never take Your love or rainbows for granted. Amen. ♥

Selah.

About michellerap

Today I find my identity in God. I use to find my identity in externals, like motherhood, being a lawyer, etc. But that's not who I am. I am redeemed and wholly loved and precious in His sight. First and foremost, this is who I am. The other things are part of me, but they do not define me. God does. My job as a Christian is not to judge people but to show them the heart and hands of Christ. I am to show mercy and grace. And someday, when I am an attorney, I hope I can help those God puts in my path to find justice. I am a mother of four and a grandmother of nine. I am proud of each of them. I also have three dogs. I am lawyer who loves what I do. I am also Gluten-Free and any recipe I publish is GF. It's the only way I cook.
This entry was posted in Faith, God's Will, Rainbows, Spiritual, Trust and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

