I’m Hot

I’m Hot. Really. Really hot. Caliente. Molto caldo. Très chaud. Heiss. In other words, hot. I’m hot for Jesus. Jesus is my love, my lover, my best friend, my all. And what makes me sad is that I’ve learned by observation that that is not true for much of Oklahoma City (and probably the world). I’ve gone to a lot of churches here, and overwhelmingly they are lukewarm. Today I went to a African-American, Pentecostal church but I felt like the entire service was for the recipients and not for Jesus. Since today was Pentecost that was the crux of the message, but somehow it was devoid of passion. Oh it was loud. It was extremely vocal. There was shouting Hallelujah and Amen, but it smacked of showmanship instead of a love affair. You see, I think our relationship with Jesus should be a love affair. I love Jesus. Jesus is the lover of my soul, my heart. Jesus is my heart. 

So what does the Bible say? Revelations 3:14-22 says “And to the angel of the church of the Laodiceans write, ‘These things says the Amen, the Faithful and True Witness, the Beginning of the creation of God: “I know your works, that you are neither cold nor hot. I could wish you were cold or hot. So then, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will vomit you out of My mouth.  Because you say, ‘I am rich, have become wealthy, and have need of nothing’—and do not know that you are wretched, miserable, poor, blind, and naked—  I counsel you to buy from Me gold refined in the fire, that you may be rich; and white garments, that you may be clothed, that the shame of your nakedness may not be revealed; and anoint your eyes with eye salve, that you may see. As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten. Therefore be zealous and repent.  Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me.  To him who overcomes I will grant to sit with Me on My throne, as I also overcame and sat down with My Father on His throne. “He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.”’”

Jesus wants us to have passion for Him. He wants us to sing to Him, talk to Him, LOVE Him. He wants to be your best friend, your lover, your all. He wants to be intimate with you, He wants you to talk over everything with Him, Don’t be lukewarm. And if you are, rekindle the romance. He’s waiting.

Selah.

About michellerap

Today I find my identity in God. I use to find my identity in externals, like motherhood, being a lawyer, etc. But that's not who I am. I am redeemed and wholly loved and precious in His sight. First and foremost, this is who I am. The other things are part of me, but they do not define me. God does. My job as a Christian is not to judge people but to show them the heart and hands of Christ. I am to show mercy and grace. And someday, when I am an attorney, I hope I can help those God puts in my path to find justice. I am a mother of four and a grandmother of nine. I am proud of each of them. I also have three dogs. I am lawyer who loves what I do. I am also Gluten-Free and any recipe I publish is GF. It's the only way I cook.
This entry was posted in Friend, Hot, Jesus, Love, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Hot

  1. De la balle mon coco ton blog c une tuerie !

Leave a Reply

