Perfect Worry

Just this morning I identified a new sin in my life: MOTHERHOOD! Okay, not quite, this was just to get your attention. But it could almost be true, because isn’t motherhood synonymous for WORRY? I think they are very closely related. At least in my life and my mother’s life and in most mother’s I know lives.

Recently I couldn’t get in touch with one of my grown children for 16 hours. SIXTEEN HOURS! How could he? I mean, really. So here I was, already visualizing his death (no I wasn’t planning it, just visualizing it. ). I was trying to figure out what kind of service he would want, what kind of casket, etc. I’m sure many of us have had these fears. So just as I was dialing his sister to go and check on him (probably to find his cold, dead body) guess who called? You got it – my son. Of course he was calling me for nothing related to his untimely demise and didn’t realize I had just buried him in my own fertile imagination.

Then there is my fear of flunking out of law school. Yes, I know, most law students fear that their first year. But still – it’s there. Now, I am studying. I truly believe God sent me to law school here in Oklahoma City. He will help me make it through. But somehow, I just KNOW something is going to go wrong. I like my life too much for it to stay like this. How can I, such an awful person, have such a great life?

Oh, if I don’t flunk out, then what if I can’t pay my bills and I land on the street? I mean, seriously, I get a check each month that pays my rent and I only need about $400 more a month to survive. Financial aid, IF I DON’T SPEND IT, will get me through. But here I am, with the money set back, worrying that I’m going to spend it and be homeless.

So what do all of these things have to do with one another? They are worry. And worry is what? Sin. Oh no, I’m not perfect. I have worry (which = sin in my life.) What am I going to do since I’m no longer perfect?

Deuteronomy 31:6 says “Be strong and of a good courage, fear not, nor be afraid of them: for the LORD thy God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.” We are admonished not to fear, because God will be with us. He will never leave us or forsake us. (Heb. 13:5)

Did you know that the word fear is mentioned 365 times in the Bible. That’s one verse a day, telling us to trust God and not to fear. Even when it’s flip-flopped and the enemies of the Jews or of God are afraid, that just really tells us to trust God, right? The only one we are to fear is God. Matthew 10:28 says “And fear not them which kill the body, but are not able to kill the soul: but rather fear him which is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.” Hebrews 13:6 says “So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.”

But it is to be a holy fear, more like respect, or loving God so much that we don’t want to disappoint Him. Because He is our father. Romans 8:15 says “For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father.” Abba is the Hebrew pet name, like Daddy. I love the thought of literally climbing in Abba, Daddy’s lap and taking Him all of my problems and worries and then LEAVING them with Him. Yes, we aren’t to carry our fears. We are to give them to Him! John 4:18 says “There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love.” So God, who is perfect, will carry our fears.

Joseph Scriven was born at Bambridge, Co. Down, Ireland. He graduated from Trinity College in Dublin and was a believer in  the teachings of the Plymouth Brethern. He was a born philanthropist and truly a believer; he gave freely of what money he had, even his own clothing and his services to all poorer than himself who needed them.

His fiancée drowned in 1845, the night before they were to be married. Grief-stricken young man moved to Canada and once again fell in love. Shortly before their wedding his fiancée suddenly fell ill of pneumonia and died. He then devoted the rest of his life to helping others.

He wrote a poem to comfort his mother called “Pray Without Ceasing”.  It was later set to music and renamed by  Charles Crozat Converse, becoming the hymn “What A Friend We Have In Jesus.”

What A Friend We Have In Jesus

What a Friend we have in Jesus, all our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry everything to God in prayer!
O what peace we often forfeit, O what needless pain we bear,
All because we do not carry everything to God in prayer.

Have we trials and temptations? Is there trouble anywhere?
We should never be discouraged; take it to the Lord in prayer.
Can we find a friend so faithful who will all our sorrows share?
Jesus knows our every weakness; take it to the Lord in prayer.

Are we weak and heavy laden, cumbered with a load of care?
Precious Savior, still our refuge, take it to the Lord in prayer.
Do your friends despise, forsake you? Take it to the Lord in prayer!
In His arms He’ll take and shield you; you will find a solace there.

Blessed Savior, Thou hast promised Thou wilt all our burdens bear
May we ever, Lord, be bringing all to Thee in earnest prayer.
Soon in glory bright unclouded there will be no need for prayer
Rapture, praise and endless worship will be our sweet portion there.

So beloved friends, today, carry all your burdens to Him, who is more than willing to take them and to be your best friend. Just think, He will never fail you, die on you, or let you down. He won’t ignore your phone calls. He’s only a prayer away.

Selah.


About michellerap

Today I find my identity in God. I use to find my identity in externals, like motherhood, being a lawyer, etc. But that's not who I am. I am redeemed and wholly loved and precious in His sight. First and foremost, this is who I am. The other things are part of me, but they do not define me. God does. My job as a Christian is not to judge people but to show them the heart and hands of Christ. I am to show mercy and grace. And someday, when I am an attorney, I hope I can help those God puts in my path to find justice. I am a mother of four and a grandmother of nine. I am proud of each of them. I also have three dogs. I am lawyer who loves what I do. I am also Gluten-Free and any recipe I publish is GF. It's the only way I cook.
This entry was posted in Friend, Jesus, Prayers, Spiritual, Trust and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

