Justice

African-Americans are not the only people who suffer in the world today.  Native Americans, Hispanics, the disabled, the mentally ill, they all suffer in our country. Throughout the world the injustice and ethnic cleansing that takes place quietly, without someone speaking out is abhorrent. We all can change some injustice – it is just up to each of us to determine what that is. Where has God called you to create change? Where has God called you to create justice for others? Where has God called you to be His hands and feet and heart here on earth?

Martin Luther King Jr. said “”Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.”

Yes, someday we’ll all be free, but we’re not there yet. Let us remember how far we’ve come, but let us also not rest on our laurels, but realize that freedom is illusive, and we must continue our fight for all humanity. We Shall Overcome, even if it costs us everything. Because freedom for all is right., it is just, it is Godly. God is no respecter of persons. Acts 10:34-35 says “Then Peter opened his mouth, and said, Of a truth I perceive that God is no respecter of persons: But in every nation he that feareth him, and worketh righteousness, is accepted with him.” It’s not about skin color or socioeconomic bracket or employment – it’s about doing righteousness and justice. Martin Luther King Jr. said “A man who won’t die for something is not fit to live.”

I don’t know about you but I agree with him. If I won’t lay down my life for Christ, for what I am called to do, for my family, for . . . then am I really alive? Or am I really just an animal being herded through life? I have to have something that fills me with such passion, such life, such love, that nothing else matters. I love my Savior that way. I know I do. And my family. And I should love my calling that much. I’m not there yet, but I hope to be.

I remember once that a man who was high got angry at God because I was telling him that God loved him and made him perfect the way he was. The man had cerebral palsy and was unable to walk well (but his arms were fine) and didn’t want to hear that. He became angry and began to choke me. I remember praying inside (literally unable to speak because I was being choked). God miraculously stopped him that day and I was able to tell him that God loved Him and so did I. God gave me His love that day; hopefully I will always have that love for my fellowman. Hopefully my love of God will conquer my fear of death. I hope I never lose that passion for God and His love and His grace.

Today I am alive. It is up to me to determine whether I live well, or I am herded like cattle.

Selah.

About michellerap

Today I find my identity in God. I use to find my identity in externals, like motherhood, being a lawyer, etc. But that's not who I am. I am redeemed and wholly loved and precious in His sight. First and foremost, this is who I am. The other things are part of me, but they do not define me. God does. My job as a Christian is not to judge people but to show them the heart and hands of Christ. I am to show mercy and grace. And someday, when I am an attorney, I hope I can help those God puts in my path to find justice. I am a mother of four and a grandmother of nine. I am proud of each of them. I also have three dogs. I am lawyer who loves what I do. I am also Gluten-Free and any recipe I publish is GF. It's the only way I cook.
This entry was posted in Change, Overcome, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Justice

  1. Nancy says:

    thank you for sharing from your heart…and thank you for sharing what we too often leave unsaid. May we remember to live for the One who died for us….

Leave a Reply

