Happy New Year!

Hello friends – it’s time to start the New Year off right. That means resolutions many of us will break before the week is out and guilt from our failures. This year I want to set realistic, achievable goals to make me feel better about myself, not worse. So to start it off right, here are some great quotes about New Year’s.

Be always at war with your vices, at peace with your neighbors, and let each new year find you a better man. (Benjamin Franklin.)

For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.
And to make an end is to make a beginning.
T.S. Eliot, “Little Gidding”

We will open the book. Its pages are blank. We are going to put words on them ourselves. The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day. (Edith Lovejoy Pierce)

Now that I have some great quotations to start me off right, what am I going to resolve to do this year? Hmm.

1. I am going to lose the 20 lbs. I have gained since law school started (and maybe 20 more). So my goal is to lose 40 lbs. That is doable and definitely attainable. It is also defined enough that it’s not a will-o-wisp thrown into the wind, like saying “I want to lose weight.”

2. I am going to exercise 5 days a week 30 minutes a day. Once again, it is defined and therefore attainable.

3. I am going to use a planner and write down all assignments and check them off (this one is less defined so it will be more difficult but I’m going to try.) I also resolve to not have guilt about this one if I don’t achieve it. It’s one of those ongoing goals – maybe someday. I know we all have those.

4. I am going to pray daily for my children’s salvation. I have come to realize that of all the Christmas and birthday gifts I can give them, this is really the only one of any value. I would rather see them saved than to experience happiness here on earth, because with salvation you can truly have joy and peace.

Now, I am going to ask all of you out there to join me in praying for my children’s salvation. I am also going to ask you to pray for my success in law school.

Feel free to share your resolutions and to ask for prayer. Pray without ceasing. Love without conditions. Show grace and mercy. Peace.




About michellerap

Today I find my identity in God. I use to find my identity in externals, like motherhood, being a lawyer, etc. But that's not who I am. I am redeemed and wholly loved and precious in His sight. First and foremost, this is who I am. The other things are part of me, but they do not define me. God does. My job as a Christian is not to judge people but to show them the heart and hands of Christ. I am to show mercy and grace. And someday, when I am an attorney, I hope I can help those God puts in my path to find justice. I am a mother of four and a grandmother of nine. I am proud of each of them. I also have three dogs. I am lawyer who loves what I do. I am also Gluten-Free and any recipe I publish is GF. It's the only way I cook.
This entry was posted in Spiritual and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

